Etsyrank Review

This is the first in a series of articles examining third party Etsy tools, primarily those that integrate directly with Etsy via the Etsy API. This series is written from my perspective as an 18 month Etsy seller and an 18 year IT Service Management consultant where my job has mainly been to design and implement the IT services that large companies rely on.

Introducing EtsyRank.com

EtsyRank is a bit of a swiss-army knife tool, in fact it’s more of a collection of tools added in response to different requirements posted on the EtsyRank support Facebook page as well as the developer’s own roadmap.

This collection-of-tools approach leads to Etsyrank having a somewhat confusing interface for the novice user – where do they start?

The plethora of features (link to full description here) include:

  • Keyword Tool
  • Spell Checker
  • Listing Audit
  • Rank Checker
  • Spell Checker
  • Social Report
  • Profit Calculator
  • Colour trends
  • Market Report
  • Shop Critique
  • Backups
  • Category Tool
  • Marketing Calendar
  • Dashboard
  • Compare Shops
  • Listing Summary
  • Compare Listings
  • Monitor
  • & more…

and honestly, I don’t really know where to start. I could start with the tools I use regularly (because I’m kind of a fan of this site), but instead I’ve divided them into categories depending on where you are in the cycle.

I say cycle, because you should be reviewing and improving cyclically. Anyone who has done business studies in the last 30 years will probably be familiar with Deming and his improvement cycle of ‘Plan-Do-Check-Act’, and I’m going to play off this to divide Etsyrank’s tools into 4 categories:

 

Plan (Think about your strategy and approach)

  • Profit Calculator
  • Colour trends
  • Market Report
  • Marketing Calendar

 

Do (Research, investigate, think about tactics, execute plans)

  • Keyword Tool
  • Spell Checker
  • Listing Audit
  • Category Tool
  • Tag tool

 

Check (Monitor)

  • Listing Summary
  • Monitor
  • Dashboard
  • Rank Checker
  • Social Report
  • Backups
  • SEO report (for google, via MOZ)

 

Act (Review and improve)

  • Compare Listings
  • Compare Shops
  • Shop Critique

 

Note that this is only my interpretation, and obviously several of these tools have multiple uses. So how do you actually use them? Well, I’m not going to recreate the user guide, but here’s how I could use them in one end to end cycle.

 

Putting this into practice

Planning

Let’s say I’m planning a new christmas card. Looking at the Market Report, I’ll note that reach took a dip in November last year, so my Xmas card should probably be available for August/September. I’ll also note that the top 3 markets are english speaking, with french speaking (france and canada) coming next. Therefore I’ll think about doing a french language version of any card that I do, if it works with the design. I’ll also make sure I’m shipping to those countries. The marketing calendar also gives me dates for black friday and cyber monday so I can mark those in my diary, but aside from that, there’s not much else to see here.

The color trends report, sorted on number of searches and ordered high to low, shows coffee in first place (which could be misleading as it could also include the subject ‘coffee’, and the same for gold and chocolate) followed by pink, black, red, silver, white. The design I have in mind for my card is black and red, so that’s probably ok, but I also remember reading that this years pantone colour of the year was a green, somewhere between what etsy calls green and olive. The olive colour shows a slight upward tick towards the end of 2016 but it’s not something I’m especially concerned about. If greenery is still Pantone’s colour of the year, then I’ll maybe do a green christmas card version as well as the red one. 

I’m disappointed the colour trends chart doesn’t let me enter my own hex or rgb code here.

Finally the profit calculator. I’ll enter my costs and work out how long until I can retire to the Maldives. Answer: a long time. But let’s press on!

 

Doing

OK, so now I’ve come up with my christmas card designs, I have a red and a green variant, and I’ve also decided to do a french language variant. The category tool will tell me which category I’m going to list it in based on where everyone else is.

Jumping into the keyword tool and entering christmas card, I can see some related keywords and how widespread they are. This is a useful measure, but I disagree with the red/amber/green rating here because personally I quite like keywords that are between 10-14k, it means they’re probably quite busy which means customers. I’ll take a copy of all the keywords here in order to start planning my own keywords, but I’ll not go too deeply into that here as that’s a fairly major topic.

At this point I’m creating my listing, uploading images, writing the description and getting my keywords right. Once I’ve done this, I’ll use the Listing Audit to tell me how well I’ve composed the listing and whether I’ve met all of Etsy’s obscure (and very 2005) SEO criteria. I’ll also use the spell checker here, and the tag tool to tell me how widely I’ve used those same tags across my shop. I do want to avoid too much duplication because of Etsy search’s Shop Diversity factor which prevents multiple products from the same shop ranking highly (How Etsy Search Works, by Etsy).

 

Checking and monitoring

The monitor tool will let me monitor my lead keyword (I usually monitor the keywords in positions 1-3 of the title), and every time I log back in to Etsy the Dashboard and Listing Summary features will give me some at-a-glance information across my shop, but it’s the Rank Checker I’m most interested in. 

Simply put, this tells me where I rank in search for any given keyword, as long as it’s within the first 500 results. I’ll keep an eye on my products periodically and check that I’m in the first 3-5 pages (ideally) and if not, and if I’m not getting traction with views and likes, then I’ll consider changing it up (see next section). The social report helps feed into my overall assessment of how well my listings are doing. The SEO/Moz report (when operational) gives some supplemental information about my shop’s wider SEO reach on the Google & Bing search engines. 

 

Acting to review and improve

Taking the information gleaned so far in the last stage, I’ll periodically look at the Shop Critique which compares me with the average Etsy shop, which will give me a few short objectives with regards to social media and number of products etc. I’ll compare shops and listings with a few of my competitors to see how I’m doing an identify other gaps that jump out at me.

All of this information together will help to inform my next steps and send me back to the beginning of this loop – back to Planning. I might not have a new product this time, but merely want to optimise an existing one.

 

Verdict

I like Etsyrank. It’s free, and it’s useful. It’s also a bit confusing. Therefore I’m giving it the following scores out of 5:

Functionality: 4 out of 5

Usability: 3 out of 5

Value for money: 5 out of 5

You can use Etsyrank for free at https://www.etsyrank.com

If you liked this article, please leave a like or a follow here on WordPress, or check out my Etsy shop at: https://www.etsy.com/shop/geekandprofane

 

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

